Letter #2 for Clara

May 10, Seoul

Carinha Clarinha

It is hard to know where beginnings begin.  It is hard to know where to start a story, or where it will find its end.  For this story – your story – we could go back further to find a different start, and maybe later I will.  But for the moment, let me start with the story of how your mother, Teresa Villaverde, and I met.

It was at a small festival in the north of France, in the small port city of Dunquerque, in 1992.  The man who ran the festival, Jacques Deniel, liked and programmed more difficult “art” films.  Your mother was there with her first film, A Idade Maior.  I was there showing my film, All the Vermeers in New York.  I don’t remember much about the festival aside from meeting an acquaintance or two, other filmmakers whom I knew.  I saw Teresa’s film and I think she saw mine.  Somewhere along the way there was a dinner with all the film directors, and your mother sat across a table from me, or so she told me, and at the beginning she says she didn’t like me.  And then, quickly, something happened, and I guess she fell in love with me.  Then and there.

Or so she told me.  To be honest, I hardly noticed her myself, though I recall finding her film melodramatic and at the end, a bit absurd.  Though I thought for someone so young, it was an impressive start.  She was 27 years old; I was 49.  At the time she was living with Vasco Pimental, whom you know – he’s in the pictures below.  I was living with an American woman.

In the next months your mother contacted me, by phone (this was before the internet and email) and with letters.  At some point I visited Lisboa, I think to show a film at the Cinemateca, and Teresa offered to let me and my companion, Wendy, use her car.  She seemed to stay around us as much as she could.   Sometime later – I don’t really remember when – I was living in Berlin for a while, and your mother contacted me and said she was looking for someone to shoot her next film, and asked if I would be interested.  A bit later she came to Berlin, supposedly to talk to me about the job.  But, in hindsight, it was clearly because she was pursuing me, romantically; and again, looking back, one would have to say she was doing so obsessively.  Nothing happened on her visit to Berlin, though she stayed in the studio I was living in – I slept on the couch the few days she was there.  She didn’t end up hiring me to do the camera on her film.

In 1993 I moved to Rome, by myself, as a kind of 50th birthday present – I had wanted to live in Rome for many years.  Your mother continued to contact me, now in an explicit romantic manner.  I think it was spring, 1994.  She begged me to go to see her in Lisbon, where she had begun shooting her second film, Tres Irmaos.  While I was not really attracted to her, for some reason I relented, and went.  I was supposed to meet her near the sculpture of Fernando Pessoa in front of the Cafe Brasileira at Chiado.  She was a few hours late.  I do recall her walking up, looking a bit dumpy in blue jeans and a careless shirt.  We checked into the Hotel Borges, right there.  So, really, began our relationship.   Teresa was still with Vasco, who was clearly very unhappy, though your mother seemed to like me to come near to her shooting, while knowing it upset him.  In some way it made her happy to do so – perhaps it was her way of telling him she wanted to, or was breaking with him.  Curiously I had met Vasco many years before when I was in Portugal shooting a film on which he was doing the sound.

As I recall I spent a week or so in Lisboa, and then returned to Rome, with no commitments made.  But your mother continued to press me, and when she finished shooting her film, I think in June, she begged me again to return to Lisboa, and I did.  We spent most of that summer together, at first in an apartment she had shared with Vasco.  I remember going to it – a very small messy place, ill-kept.  One room was full of books and clothes rotting from mildew.  We traveled around Portugal a bit, to the north, to the Algarve.  At the end of the summer we both felt it was not working and I returned to Rome, our little affair being over.

That was the beginning.  I will tell you more in the next letter.

Since I sent you the first letter here, someone in Lisboa, who saw it, sent me some pictures of you he had found on a Facebook page.   They are perhaps a year old, I don’t really know.  They are the first I have seen anything of you since August 2001, when your mother kidnapped you, a second time, from our home in Rome and fled to Lisboa.

You are very lovely, though to me your eyes seem sad.  I hope it is not so.

Below I will put some pictures of me, when I was very very young.   And I will put those of you.  And of my friend Rui, who has for some years now, helped me in trying to keep track of you and to find you.

Another letter will come in some more weeks.

I love you, Clarinha, and I hope to see you soon.

A hug from far away from your father

jon

Seoul, 10 Maio

 

RETURNED LETTER SCANNED

Cara Clarinha

É dificil saber por onde começar. É dificil e pesaroso saber onde se começa uma história,e  neste caso, saber onde a mesma terá a sua conclusão. Para esta história – a tua história – podíamos retorceder no tempo para descobrir um novo começo, e talvez mais tarde eu o faça. Mas, por agora, deixa-me começar com a história como eu e a tua mãe, Teresa Villaverde, nos conhecemos.

Foi num pequeno festival no Norte de França, no porto de Dunquerque, em 1992. O homem que dirigia o festival, Jacques Deniel, gostava e programava filmes “dificieis”. A tua mãe estava lá a exibir o seu primeiro filme, A Idade Maior.  Eu encontrava-me a mostrar o meu filme All the Vermeers in New York. Não me lembro muito acerca do festival, aparte de um outro conhecimento, na maior parte realizadores que eu já conhecia. Vi o filme de tua mãe e creio que ela viu o meu. Algures deu-se um jantar com os realizadores presentes, e a tua mãe sentou-se numa mesa em frente à minha, pelo que ela diz. A principio disse não ter gostado de mim. Depois, rapidamente, algo aconteceu, e acredito que se tenha então apaixonado por mim.

Ou pelo menos, foi o que me disse. Para ser honesto, dificilmente terei reparado nela, apesar de ter achado o seu filme bastante melodramatico, e no fim, algo absurdo. Pensei também que para alguem tao novo, era contudo um principio impressionante. Ela encontrava-se na altura com 27 anos e eu com 49. Nesse momento vivia com Vasco Pimentel, (com quem julgo que se encontra nas fotografias embaixo). Eu vivia com uma senhora norte-americana.

Nos meses seguintes, a tua mãe contactou-me, por telefone (esta altura antecedeu a Internet e o e-mail) e por carta. A certa altura, visitei Lisboa, creio que para exibir um filme na Cinemateca e Teresa ofereceu-se para me emprestar a mim, e à minha companheira Wendy, a sua viatura. Parecia que estava à nossa volta tanto quanto pudesse. Algum tempo depois – confesso não me lembrar quanto – vivia eu em Berlim e a tua mãe contactou-me dizendo que procurava alguém que realizasse o seu próximo filme e questionou-me se estaria interessado. Algum tempo depois veio a Berlim, supostamente para me falar do trabalho. Todavia tornou-se claro que me pretendia conquistar romanticamente, e olhando novamente para trás, devo dizê-lo que o fazia de forma obsessiva. Nada aconteceu na sua visita a Berlim, embora ela tenha ficado no estudio em que eu vivia – dormi no sofa nos poucos dias em que ela lá esteve. E curiosamente acabou por não me contratar para realizar o seu projecto.

Em 1993 mudei-me para Roma como uma espécie de presente do meu 50º aniversário -pretendia viver em Roma há muitos anos. A tua mãe continuou a contactar-me, e agora de uma maneira explicitamente romântica. Creio que era Primavera de 1994. Pediu-me que fosse a Lisboa vê-la, onde estava a filmar o seu segundo filme, Três Irmãos.  Embora não estivesse realmente atraído por ela, por alguma razão – deixei-me ir na conversa. Fiquei de me encontrar com ela junto da estátua de Fernando Pessoa frente ao café Brasileira do Chiado. Chegou com algumas horas de atraso. Lembro-me dela algo desajustada nas roupas, uns jeans azuis e uma camisa descuidada. Ficámos logo no Hotel Borges, bem junto do local. Teresa ainda estava com Vasco, que estava francamente infeliz, apesar de a tua mãe me pedir para ir várias vezes ao local das filmagens do seu filme, embora isso o aborrecesse, naturalmente. Creio que de alguma maneira isso a fazia feliz; talvez fosse a maneira que ela encontrou para lhe dizer que não o desejava mais, ou pela qual pretendia anunciar o terminus da relação. Curiosamente encontrei-me com Vasco muitos anos antes, quando estive em Portugal a realizar um filme e ela estava encarregue do som.

Pelo que me lembro, estive uma semana em Lisboa e depois regressei a Roma. Não existiam compromissos. Contudo, a tua mãe continuou a pressionar-me, e creio que quando terminou de realizar o seu filme, em Junho, pediu-me que regressasse mais uma vez a Lisboa, o que fiz. Passámos a maior parte do Verão num apartamento que ela havia anteriormente partilhado com Vasco. Lembro-me do local- pequeno, desarrumado, sujo. Um quarto estava cheio de livros e roupas. Viajámos por Portugal, pelo Norte e pelo Algarve. No fim do Verão ambos sentimos que não estava a resultar e com o meu regresso a Roma, o nosso pequeno affair acabou por terminar.

Isto foi o começo. Contarei mais na próxima carta.

Desde que te enviei a primeira carta, alguém em Lisboa que a leu, enviou-me algumas fotografias tuas, que encontrou num perfil do Facebook. Têm talvez 1 ano, mas não posso dizer com certeza absoluta. São as primeiras que vejo acerca de ti desde Agosto 2001 quando a tua mãe te sequestrou, uma segunda vez, da nossa casa de Roma e voou para Lisboa.

Eras muito bonita, embora me parecesses sempre com uns olhos tristes. Espero que já não sejam.

Em baixo, colocarei algumas fotografias minhas, quando era bastante mais novo. E colocarei algumas tuas. E também do meu amigo Rui, que desde há alguns anos me tem tentado auxiliar a saber de ti.

Outra carta se seguirá nas próximas semanas.

Amo-te Clarinha e espero ver-te em breve.

Um abraço de muito longe do teu pai,

Jon


clara-- (2)

clara--1 b(2)

clara-1a (2)

a brasiliera

P6300051

Rui Santos, who has been so generous to us

pics jon as child

Your father as a little boy, and to the lower left, a young man (one to the right)

~ by jonjost on May 10, 2009.

2 Responses to “Letter #2 for Clara”

  1. we will be here for Clara and i m here always to help you, my friend
    best, and keep hope

  2. […] the link here, and even if you read it before a long time ago, I suggest you go and read it again here.   Some things in it have changed, as both you and I have, but the things about your mother and I […]

Leave a Reply

 
