Uma carta para Clara (No.3)

CLARA center urbinoClara in Urbino

June 28 2009

Carinha Clara,

I am sorry to be so late in writing again, but life in Seoul was very busy the last month and more.  I was at the end of the teaching term, we were moving from the place we lived in this year, to a new place, and as well finishing up things for a trip.  I am writing now from London, where we just arrived a day ago and will stay a week and then on to Ireland for a festival where we show some films and do a workshop.  “We” is Marcella, my wife since March 14 2006.  She is from Matera, Italy, where we will go after seeing a bit of Ireland.   I will tell you more about us later.

For now, back to the story of your mother and me.  As I wrote, after a summer together, we decided things weren’t working, and I returned to Rome, our relationship ended.  If I remember correctly I began shooting a film there, Uno a te, in Italian.  I found a new girlfriend, Anna.  And I was busy in my own life.  Your mother though stayed in touch, writing and calling, and in the spring she begged me to see her again in Lisboa.  For reasons I don’t really understand I agreed, and told Anna that I didn’t know what would happen when I went.  Looking back I think I went out of a kind of respect for Teresa’s sheer stubbornness, which had I been a bit wiser, I would have seen as an obsessiveness that was a sign of danger.  But I went, and I did not return.  In that summer, 1995, we began to live together, going to Cabanas and traveling in Portugal.  And I began to paint.  In the autumn we moved to London, while your mother worked on a script for her next film, Os Mutantes, and I did research for one of my own, and continued to work in painting and pastels.  Under my guidance your mother began to go to museums and see paintings and take note of the visual arts, apparently for the first time.

We stayed the winter in London, and in late spring we went for a month to Scotland where I was researching a film I’d been invited to make by a big arts exposition in Germany, Dokumenta.  That summer, 1995, we returned to Portugal, spending a month or so in Cabanas, and then moving to Lisboa where your mother worked on her script.  I honestly don’t quite recall the order of things in this time, but know that your mother and I then in 1996 spent a month in Cabanas where I shot a first film in DV, Nas Correntes de Luz da Ria Formosa, and in this time your mother became pregnant with you.  I remember getting a little test for her to check if it was so, and watching the little colored strip of paper turn blue.   And I remember your mother and I together saying “yes.”   It would change our lives, and bring yours.  And then we moved back to Lisboa, to live in a lovely place in the Alfama, with a big open courtyard in the back where I painted and Teresa worked on the now-delayed Os Mutantes.  I spent many hours walking and shooting in the area while awaiting your arrival.  I am only now, in this year, editing the material I’d shot that year, a portrait of a little part of Lisboa in the year of your birth.  I hope to finish it by the end of this year, along with another, Picolli Miracoli, which is about you, and about me – your coming into this world, and then the next 3 and a half years we spent together.  Again, I hope to finish it this coming year.

August 12 2009

I began this in London, a month ago.  Now I am in Matera, in Italy after a month of travel – London, Galway, Derry and Dublin Ireland, Bologna, Ravenna, Rimini, Montepulciano, Capalbio and Rome.

I will write again, of your story as soon as I can.  Perhaps in just a few more weeks.  For now I send this and hope you’ve had a wonderful summer.

I love you

Your father,

Jon

28 JUNHO 2009

Querida Clarinha

Lamento escrever-te só agora, mas a vida em Seoul foi bastante complicada no último mês. Estava no período final das aulas, mudámos de sitio onde vivíamos, e estávamos a preparar uma viagem. Escrevo-te agora de Londres, onde chegámos há um dia e ficaremos aqui por uma semana até irmos à Irlanda, para um festival onde exibiremos alguns filmes e faremos um workshop. Este “nós” que eu utilizo é da Marcela, minha mulher desde 14 Março 2006. Ela é de Matera, Itália, onde iremos após a Irlanda. Contar-te-ei mais sobre esta viagem, mais tarde.


Por agora, regresso à história da tua mãe e eu. Como te escrevi, depois de um Verão juntos, decidimos que as coisas não funcionavam e ao regressar a Roma, a nossa ligação terminou. Se me lembro correctamente, decidi começar aí um filme, “Uno a te”, em italiano. Tive uma nova namorada, Anna. E encontrava-me então ocupado com os meus afazeres, a minha vida. A tua mãe continuava a manter contacto, escrevendo ou telefonando, e na Primavera, pediu-me para a ir ver em Lisboa. Por razões que não compreendo ainda hoje, aceitei e disse á Ana que não saberia o que aconteceria aquando do meu regresso. Olhando em retrospectiva, creio que fui por respeito à evidente teimosia de Teresa, que, fosse eu mais sábio, teria visto imediatamente que tal obsessão era um evidente sinal de perigo iminente. Fui e não regressei. No Verão de 1995, começámos a viver juntos, indo para Cabanas e viajando por Portugal. Comecei então a pintar. No Outuno mudámo-nos para Londres, onde a tua mãe escrevia o seu próximo filme, Os Mutantes, e eu efectuava pesquisa para o meu, continuando a pintar. Sob a minha orientação, a tua mãe começou a ir a museus, a ver quadros e a tomar notas sobre artes visuais, creio que pela primeira vez.


Nós ficámos o Inverno em Londres, e no fim da Primavera fomos um mês para a Escócia onde efectuei pesquisa sobre um filme e fui convidado a fazer uma exposição de arte na Alemanha, a Dokumenta. Nesse Verão em 1995, regressei a Portugal, passando um mês ou mais em Cabanas, mudando-me depois para Lisboa, onde a tua mãe continuou a trabalhar no argumento do seu filme. Honestamente não me lembro bem da ordem das coisas nesta altura, mas creio que a tua mãe e eu ficámos um mês em 1996 em Cabanas onde filmei o meu primeiro filme em DV, Nas Correntes de Luz da Ria Formosa, e nesta altura a tua mãe ficou grávida de ti. Lembro-me de comprar um teste de gravidez para ela verificar, e de ver a pequena faixa de papel vermelha transformar-se em azul. E lembro-me de nós os dois em conjunto gritarmos: yes! Mudou as nossas vidas, e acrescentou a tua. Mudámo-nos então para Lisboa, para morar num sitio encantador em Alfama, com um largo pátio onde eu pintava e Teresa trabalhava ainda em Os Mutantes. Passei muitas horas a passear e filmar na área enquanto aguardava a tua chegada. Só agora, este ano, edito o material que filmei nesse ano, um retrato de um pequena parcela de Lisboa, no ano do teu nascimento. Espero terminar no fim deste ano esse trabalho, em conjunto com outro, Piccolli Miracoli, sobre ti e mim, a tua vinda a este mundo e os outros 3 anos e meio que estivemos juntos. Espero de facto terminá-lo neste ano.

12 AGOSTO 2009

Comecei a escrever a carta que leste em Londres, há um mês. Estou agora em Matera, Itália, depois de 1 mês de viagem: Londres, Galway, Derry e Dublin, na Irlanda, Bologna, Ravenna, Rimini, Montepulciano, Capalbio e Roma.


Escreverei de novo, sobre a nossa história, assim que possa. Talvez dentro de uma semanas. Por agora mando isto e desejo-te um maravilhoso Verão.

Amo-te
O teu pai, Jon

                                             Obrigado a Rui Santos 
 

cloudjpg1 cc

 

PICCOLI shadows on floorJPG

PICCOLI ship in harborJPG

Above from Piccoli Miracoli

CLARA PASSPORT crpd

~ by jonjost on August 14, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
