Lettera # 12

pen_hand

Querida Clara
Em breve terás 16 anos, em 27 Março deste ano. Não mais uma criança, nem uma pequena rapariga, mas já uma jovem mulher. Gostaria de ter estado contigo todos estes anos, desde que foste raptada, em 2 Novembro de 2000, pela tua mãe, e então mantida, com a colaboração dos tribunais de menores de Portugal, sem qualquer contacto comigo, teu pai. Isto é ilegal, em clara violação com as leis italianas, país do qual foste sequestrada, e também em desacordo com a Convenção de Haia sobre subtracção de menores, e muito mais relevante, é absolutamente imoral e terá decerto infligido graves danos á tua pessoa, em particular porque durante três anos e meio fui eu quem principalmente cuidou de todo o teu bem-estar diário, fazendo tudo o que se convencionou ser do papel de “uma mãe”.

Das fotos que mostras no teu Facebook, cresceste uma adorável jovem, parece-me que tocas musica – guitarra, acho eu – e cantas. E também creio estares de boa saúde e em boa forma. Por isso, estou feliz e contente. Também toco guitarra e escrevo musica, e também me encontro em forma – talvez ainda consiga fazer um pouco mais de 80 flexões. Costumavas fazer esse exercicio comigo. Tenho uma foto em que estamos os dois a fazer tal! Aos meus olhos, as tuas imagens demonstram claramente a tua ascendência, aparência, e algo que me recorda de mim, em tempos mais jovens.

Face à tua idade, e porque já as consegues compreender, há coisas que deves saber. Acerca da familia do teu pai, coisas boas e más. Coisas que todos devemos saber acerca das nossas heranças e passado. Começarei a dizer nesta carta tal. Acerca da minha familia e sua historia, e também acerca da familia de Teresa, coisas que estou certa nem a tua mãe nem a tua avó te contarão.

Antes de mais, deves saber, legalmente, és norte-americana, além de portuguesa. Dentro de alguns anos, quando fizeres 18, pela lei portuguesa, podes fazer o que quiseres, pois serás uma adulta. Se quiseres ter um passaporte americano (ainda tenho o teu antigo, de quando eras criança) ou visitar-me ou mudares-te para os EUA, será o teu direito, e se assim decidires, ficarei feliz em tudo fazer para te auxiliar.

Face á má situação economica portuguesa, terás um melhor futuro aqui, apesar dos muitos problemas que tem o meu país.
E depois, Clara, penso que seja muito importante para a tua vida e futura felicidade veres-me antes de eu morrer – em breve terei 70 anos e não posso garantir nada.  Sinto-me e pareço saudável, talvez tenha mais 20 anos de vida, mas nunca se sabe. Por isso, quando for possivel, devemo-nos encontrar e passar tempo juntos. Mudar-me-ei para Lisboa em qualquer altura que seja possivel.
Na proxima carta enviarei informações sobre questões clinicas – o que se passou nesta parte da familia.

Entretanto, tem um maravilhoso aniversario, e save que estarei como sempre a pensar em ti.  Faço-o sempre que escrevo um mail: clarandjon@msn.com.

Lembro-me dessa noite há 16 anos, e dos anos de felicidade que se seguiram até que me foste retirada.

Amo-te, Clarinha
Teu pai,
jon

keyboard-without-1

Dearest Clara

Soon you will be 16 – on March 27 of this year, 2013.  No longer a child, nor a little girl, but a young woman.  I, of course, would have liked to be with you all these years since you were kidnapped, on Nov 2, 2000, by your mother and then kept, in collusion with the Portuguese Juvenile Courts, from any contact with me, your father.  This was illegal, in violation of the laws of Italy, from which you were taken, and the Hague Convention on International Child Abduction, and, far more importantly, it was immoral and inflicted great damage on you, especially since for three and a half years I had been overwhelmingly your primary caretaker  with you everyday, doing what “mothers” normally would do.

From the photos which you showed on your Facebook pages, you have grown into a lovely young woman, and it seems you play music – guitar it seems – and sing.  And that you are athletic and in good health.  For these things I am happy and glad.  I too play guitar and write music, and am somewhat athletic  – I can still do 80 pushups and maybe more.  You used to do them along with me.  I have a foto of you doing it!   To my eyes your pictures clearly show your lineage, and look, as should be, a bit like me in younger days.

As you are now old enough to understand, there are things you should know.  About your father’s family – good things and bad. Things we should all know about our heritages.  I will begin to tell you these things, beginning with this letter.  Both about my family and its history, and also about Teresa’s  –  things I imagine she and your grandmother are not likely to tell you.

So firstly, you should know that you are, legally, an American, as well as Portuguese.  And in a few years, when you turn 18, by Portuguese law, you can do what you wish, as a full legal adult.  Should you wish to secure an American passport (I still have your old one, as an infant), or visit or move to America, it will be your right, and if you wish to do so then, I will be happy to help you do so.  Given Portugal’s sad economic situation it might offer you a better future to do so, though I have severe problems with my country.

And secondly, I think, Clara, it is very important for your life and future happiness that you see me before I die – I will soon be 70 and can assume nothing.  While I seem quite healthy and have perhaps 20 more years, one can never know.  So when it is possible, we should meet and spend time.  I will move to Lisboa any time this will be possible.

Next time I will send some information about medical things – what runs in part of your family.

Meantime have a wonderful birthday, and know I will be, as I always am, thinking of you.  I do so every time I write an email:  clarandjon@msn.com.  I recall that night 16 years ago, and the joyous years that followed until you were taken away.

Amo-te, Clarinha

Teu pai,

jon

2726437-keyboard-of-an-old-black-typewriter

Clara

tumblr_ls4iea7sUU1qzdwroo1_500

Amo-te, Clarinha !!

~ by jonjost on March 16, 2013.

4 Responses to “Lettera # 12”

  1. Actually, Jon, she has a whole family to get to know! I hope…soon!

  2. JON, I came upon your site , as we know each other from the time I was one of the founding members of NY Newsreel and the rip off of your films now , I am deeply moved by your letter to your daughter. You have made steps to know her . I WISH BOTH OF YOU WELL AND THAT YOU MAY SPEND YOUR LIVES TOGETHER . Roz Payne

    • thank you roz. i’ve been working on it since it happened. i guess i likely have to wait until she is 18, or signals before for me to come to lisbon.

Leave a Reply

 
