Lettera # 13

jon biggs j_  Photo by Mark Eifert, in March, 2013 out on the Columbia GorgeHORIZ 3

Querida Clara

Finalmente efectuei uma paragem nas minhas viagens e tenho algum tempo para te escrever. Ficarei novamente este Verão na casa do meu amigo Marshall, em Walkerville, com vista para a cidade de Butte. Ele tem espaço de sobra e aprecia a companhia. Além disso, costumo cozinhar e sou bom nisso! Tenho muito a fazer – edição de material antigo filmado anos atrás (inclusive contigo, entre 1996 e 2001, que intitulei Pequeno Milagre – Little Miracle) e também algumas coisas novas.

Além disso livros de fotografias e algumas das minhas tentativas na arte. O suficiente para me manter ocupado todo o dia, todos os dias. E suponho que não conseguirei fazer tudo o que planeei.

Talvez neste momento estejas em Cabanas, onde passámos os dois um mês em cada Verão entre 1997 e 2001. Lembro-me bem do lugar, tendo inclusivamente filmado aí Nas correntes de luz da Ria Formosa. Se estiveres por lá, espero que tenhas um tempo óptimo na praia. E se por outro lado estiveres em Lisboa ou em qualquer outro lugar, espero e desejo-te o melhor para aquilo que escolhas.

Na minha ultima carta, disse-te que começaria a escrever acerca da tua família – dos dois lados, da minha e da de tua mãe. Escrever acerca de coisas que importam para o teu futuro bem-estar. Coisas que te contarei, da melhor forma que saiba.

A tua já falecida avó, minha mãe Dorothy (Dot) viveu até aos 70. Morreria de cancro pancreático. Acredito que sempre foi uma “alcoólica escondida” – alguém dependente do álcool mas contudo que efectua um excelente “trabalho” e esforço a esconde-lo. Nunca esteve alcoolizada, mas garrafas de vinho apareciam “misteriosamente” vazias, sempre que ela estava perto.

MomfxTeu avô, Harry,  e tua avó, Dorothy

O alcoolismo parece-me suceder nesse lado da família, os Chambers, de um passado inglês. O meu pai, que até se tornar um cristão fundamentalista, apreciava o seu Martini e o seu vinho, cessou com tais hábitos quando decidiu que seriam pecados ou algo similar. Fez com que a minha mãe parasse com o seu “hábito” levando-a a falecer poucos anos depois. O meu pai, Harry Frederick, viveu até aos 98, morrendo de Alzheimer e velhice.

Era atlético, e na sua juventude, um musico, tocando saxofone e cantando profissionalmente, numa “bing band” da época, no final dos anos 30. Do pouco que sei a teu respeito, pareces-me herdar estas características dele, e minhas.

Embora não o saiba aprofundadamente, parece-me haver na minha família uma espécie de síndrome neuro-muscular, do qual o meu irmão tem uma variante, e que gradualmente me começa a afectar – prende-me os tendões das mãos, encurva-me periodicamente os dedos, e cria alguma rigidez no indicador direito. Parece-me cada vez mais frequente. É o tipo de situação que se adquire geneticamente, portanto poderá também condicionar-te futuramente.

Do lado da tua mãe, conto-te o que sei ou vi. Alberto, o teu avô, morreu 8 meses antes de nasceres, aos 54. Não tenho a certeza absoluta, em termos médicos, mas creio ter sucumbido a alcoolismo grave, situação aliás que a tua mãe e sua família nada fizeram para evitar, antes pelo contrário, encorajando-o, segundo penso, em hábitos nocivos.

Podem ter existido razões para tal, que explicarei oportunamente, razões não plausíveis, contudo.

Sobre a tua avó, Marília, não sei muito acerca das suas situações médicas ou genéticas, apesar de conhecer outras situações, mais tarde a descrever.

Confesso-te que julgo que do lado da tua mãe, toda a família gosta de beber, talvez um pouco demais.

Acerca disto, julgo ser o que tenho a dizer-te.

O que retiras daqui, pode ser algo confuso.

Certamente, existe um risco, uma propensão para o consumo de álcool, dado que nos dois lados da família parece ser um problema genético. Assim, deves ser cuidadosa e inteligente no seu consumo, se decidires sequer beber. Deves questionar a tua mãe acerca do histórico clinico e genético da família dela, dos antepassados de Marília e Alberto, de forma a antecipares situações que te possam ocorrer, agora ou no futuro. É o teu direito de saber.

Para alem disso, e daquilo que me é dado saber – pois nada me é dito – pareces-me saudável, atlética, com queda para a musica, e assim, além da tua aparência, parece-me que a escala genética aponta na minha direcção e da do teu avô.

Parece-me assim sugerir uma longa e saudável vida.

Assim o espero para teu bem.

Julgo ser suficiente para uma carta, portanto paro aqui com estes relatos.

Acerca de mim, passo o verão aqui em Butte, e no fim de Agosto, parto para Port Angeles, no Estado de Washington, para cuidar da casa do meu amigo Steve Taylor enquanto ele e a sua companheira e alguns amigos visitam Portugal. Talvez lhe peça que tente entregar-te algo meu. Quando ele regressar, faremos um filme (ele já esteve em 4 dos meus filme). Depois disso, as coisas ainda não estão bem esclarecidas, pois aguardo comunicações de alguns festivais onde é possível ou não estar. Sendo que alguns deles são na Europa, é possível que, se convidado vá a Lisboa para tentar ver-te.

Entretanto, desejo-te um Verão maravilhoso, seja em Cabanas, Lisboa ou qualquer outro lugar.

Um grande abraço.  Amo-te.

Teu pai

jon

HORIZ 2

NEB8SM

DSC03191SM

Dearest Clara,

Finally I stop my travels for a while and have some time to write.  I am, again, for this summer, staying at my friend Marshall’s house up in Walkerville, just overlooking the town of Butte.   He has plenty of space and enjoys the company.  And I usually cook and I am good at it!  I have plenty to do – work on editing old material shot years ago (including one about you, shot from 1996 – 2001, which I title Pequinha Milagre – Little Miracle), and new things as well.  And some photography books and one on my little attempts at art.  Enough to keep me busy all day, every day.  And I suppose I won’t really get done everything I would like to manage.

Perhaps as I write this you are in Cabanas, where I spent a month each summer with you in the years 1997 – 2001.  I recall the place well – I shot a film there, Nas correntes de luz da rio Formosa.   If you are there I hope you have a good time on the beach and swim and play well.   And if not, and you are in Lisboa or elsewhere, I wish you the best of whatever  you choose.

In my last letter I said I would begin to tell you about things of your family – both sides, of my family, and your Mother’s.   Things that for your future well-being you should know about.  I tell you what I know, as best I can.

Your long since dead Grandmother, my mother, Dorothy (Dot), lived to age 70.  She died from pancreatic cancer.  She was, I am rather sure, what we call a “closet alchoholic” – to say someone who is addicted to alcohol but does a good job at hiding it.  She was never seen drunk, but bottles of wine would mysteriously empty when she was around.  Alcoholism seemed to run in her side of the family – the Chambers, from an English background.   My father, who until he became a strict Christian Fundamentalist, enjoyed his martini’s and wine, but he stopped cold when he seemingly decided it was sinful or something.  He made my mother stop as well and she died within a few years.   My father, Harry Frederick, lived to 98, dying of Alzheimer’s and pure old age.   He was athletic, and in his earlier years, a musician, playing saxophone and singing professionally in a big band of the era – the late 1930’s.  From what little I know about you, it appears you carry on these traits of his, and mine.

Dorothy and Harry with Brad Scott and JoelYour grandmother, Dorothy, and grandfather, Harry with my nephews, Brad, Scott and Joel

While I do not really know, also in my family there seems to be some kind of neuro-muscular syndrome, which my older brother has a variant of, and which I think slowly begins to effect me – it makes the tendons in my hands seize up, periodically making my fingers curl in, or my right index finger point rigidly.  This seems to be getting more frequent.  It is the kind of thing I think is genetically acquired, so it may be you too will have this some time in the future.

On your mother’s side of the family, I tell you what I know or saw.  Alberto, your Grandfather, died 8 months before you were born, at the age of 54.  I am not really sure, in medical terms, what precisely they said he died from, but I am rather sure it was in part a consequence of severe alcoholism – a disease which your Mother’s side of the family did nothing to help correct.  If anything, to my observation, they encouraged it.  There may be reasons for this, which I will tell you about later.  They are not very happy reasons.

Of your Grandmother Marília, I don’t know much regarding medical and genetic things, though I do know other things which I will tell you later.   To my observation most of your Mother’s side of the family does like to drink, perhaps a bit too much.

Along this line, this is mostly what I can tell you.  What you might learn from it is mixed.   Certainly one thing it tells you is that you are at risk with alcohol, as on both sides of your family it seems to be a genetic problem.  So you should be careful and intelligent about drinking, if you choose to do so at all. You should ask your mother for as full information regarding all medical and genetic things on her side of the family, both Marília’s and Alberto’s sides, so you will be forewarned about anything which might affect you, now or in the future.  It is your right to know these things.

Beyond that, from what little I know – since I am given no word about you at all – it appears you are healthy, athletic, musical and I’d draw from that, along with your appearance, that the genetic scales tilt somewhat in the direction of your father, and of his father.   This would suggest perhaps a healthy and long life.  I hope so for your sake.

I think that is enough for one letter, so I will stop here with these things.

Of myself, I will spend the rest of the summer here in Butte, and at the end of August I will go to Port  Angeles, Washington state, to care for my friend Steve Taylor’s house there, while he and his partner and some friends go to visit Portugal.  I may ask him to try to deliver you something for me while he is there.   When he returns we’ll be shooting a film (he’s been in four of my films before).  After that for the moment things are unclear as I await word from festivals whether I am or am not invited.  Several are in Europe, and if invited there, I may try to come to Lisboa to try to see you.

Meantime I hope you have a wonderful summer, whether in Cabanas or Lisboa or somewhere else.

Um grande abraco.  Amo-te.

Teu pai,

jon

CAN1

CAN2

CAN3 - Copy (2)

CAN5

CAN6 - Copy

CAN7 - Copy

CAN10 - Copy (2)

CAN13

CAN14From a new work, Canyon, shot in May

(All the other images are from things I am working on these days.)

Amo-te, Clarinha !

PICCOLI clarahand1day

PICCOLI claraface1sm

PICCOLI claraface9bypoolFrom Pequinha Milagre

~ by jonjost on July 21, 2013.

Leave a Reply

 
