Lettera # 15 para Clara

DSC05830Harbor, Port Angeles, Wa.

September 23

Dear Clara,

I am now in Port Angeles, Washington – just about the farthest west one can go in America.  I am with friends, Steve – who has been in five of my films, and his partner, Todd.  They went a few weeks ago to Lisboa, where they stayed almost two weeks, and Steve dropped off a few DVDs at your door as it seems you were not there.  One was a film he is in, Homecoming, and the other is the film for you, Passages.  I don’t know, of course, if you got them or not.  I hope so.   Here in Port Angeles we’re shooting another film – casually and relaxed, the way I work these days.  I hope to have it all shot in another 10 days.

DSC05429

DSC05405

From here I will go on to Portland to visit friends and work a bit on photography, and then to San Francisco, again to see friends and work.  And perhaps afterward on to Los Angeles for a festival (if one of my new films is invited) and then at the end of November I go to St Louis to a festival there, where I will show some work, and rather comically receive a “Lifetime Achievement Award,” which to me seems a kind of joke.  I don’t take it very seriously.  Along with me getting the same award will be Oliver Stone, the big Hollywood director.  That makes it even more of a joke for me!  And then, perhaps, in January I will go to Europe, for the Rotterdam festival, and if so I will likely stay 2 or 3 months, traveling, doing some screenings here and there, including in Lisboa at the Cinemateca (if, given the current economic crisis in Portugal, it remains open.)  And if all this happens I would hope to see you.

I was going to write about your mother and I, but it would only repeat what I already wrote to you some years ago, perhaps too early for you to understand.  So I put the link here, and even if you read it before a long time ago, I suggest you go and read it again here.   Some things in it have changed, as both you and I have, but the things about your mother and I meeting remain “history.”   As do the other things about Teresa, myself, and you in the letters that followed.

So you must now be back in school, with all the busy matters of studying, seeing your friends, and if the story the few pictures I have seen of your life, playing music and other things.  I wish I knew more, but circumstances don’t seem to let me.  I am sorry for that – for both myself and you.  You deserved better.

I will write again as time allows but in between I send you snapshots and postcards of my travels.

Amo te,

Teu pai,

jon

STEVE TODD ET AL IN LISBOASteve, Patrick, Todd and Travis in Lisboa

KNOT NOWsmHarbor, Port Angeles, Wa.

Cara Clara,

Agora estou em Port Angeles , Washington – o mais distante a oeste que se pode ir na América. Estou com os meus amigos, Steve – que esteve em cinco dos meus filmes, e seu companheiro, Todd. Passaram algumas semanas atrás, por Lisboa, onde ficaram por quase duas semanas, e Steve deixou alguns DVDs à tua porta, pois não estavas em casa. Um deles é de um filme em que ele participa, “Homecoming”, e o outro é o filme para ti, “Passages”. Não sei, se chegaste ou não a receber os filmes. Espero que sim. Aqui em Port Angeles estamos a filmar outro filme – de forma casual e descontraída, que é a minha maneira de trabalhar nestes dias. Espero ter tudo filmado em mais 10 dias.

A partir daqui vou para Portland para visitar amigos e trabalhar um pouco em fotografia, e depois para San Francisco, mais uma vez para ver amigos e também em trabalho. Depois, talvez para Los Angeles para um festival (se um dos meus novos filmes for seleccionado) e , em seguida, no final de Novembro vou para St Louis a um festival, onde vou mostrar alguns trabalhos, e de forma curiosa, receber um “Prémio de Carreira”, que encaro como uma espécie de piada. Não levo isso muito a sério. Comigo, a receber o mesmo prêmio, estará Oliver Stone, o grande realizador de Hollywood, o que aumenta ainda mais a piada !

E então, talvez em Janeiro, vá para a Europa, ao Festival de Roterdão, e se assim for, provavelmente ficarei 2 ou 3 meses, viajando, fazendo algumas filmagens, aqui e ali , inclusive em Lisboa na Cinemateca (se dada a atual crise econômica em Portugal permanecer em funcionamento). E se tudo isso acontecer, espero ver-te.

Eu ia escrever sobre a tua mãe e eu, mas iria apenas repetir o que já escrevi há alguns anos, talvez demasiado cedo para você entender. Então coloco o link aqui, e mesmo se tiveres lido há algum tempo atrás, sugiro que leias novamente. Algumas coisas mudaram, tal como em nós todos, mas as coisas sobre o meu encontro com a tua mãe irão permanecer ” História”. Tal como em outras coisas sobre Teresa, eu e tu nas cartas que se seguiram.

Deves estar agora de volta à escola, com todos os assuntos movimentados, o estudo, ver os teus amigos, e tal como vi nas poucas fotos tuas a cantar, tocar e outras coisas. Gostaria de saber mais, mas as circunstâncias não me deixam. Sinto muito por isso – por mim e por ti. Merecias melhor.

Escreverei novamente quando o tempo permitir, e entretanto enviarei fotos e cartões postais de minhas viagens.

Amo-te ,

Teu pai,
jon

[Pastels made last summer in Butte – trying to get a little sense of the Berkeley Pit, an open copper mine.]

DSC05131 SMf

DSC05134 SM f

DSC05140SM

pastel smallcrp

pastel aug 8 13 SM

CCRPD

Amo-te, Clarinha!

~ by jonjost on September 23, 2013.

Leave a Reply

 
